My first BJJ Rant…..

I have never thought that I would catch myself doing something such as a blog before in my life yet, I have built more confidence as of late to express how I feel. I am a huge fan of Brazilian jiu jitsu/ grappling. I still remember till the day I first came across my Brazilian jiu jitsu home in Southern California. Like many young adults in the mid 2000’s I was a huge fan of Pride FC and the UFC. I enjoyed watching the many brutal fights of those days and couldn’t take my eye off the television watching modern-day gladiators. Driving on my way to work I noticed a sign selling MMA apparel, I thought to myself I should find a tap out shirt (sadly I use to be one of those “tap out” individuals lol). As I walked into the store, I noticed mats on the floor and no mma apparel. I looked at the wall pictures of Helio Gracie, the Brazilian Flag, and gis hanging I realized this a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy not your typical OTM/ MMA apparel store. This is where my Brazilian jiu jitsu career, passion and lifestyle began.

Like many practitioners of the “gentle art” I have followed suit in competing at tournaments. I have had plenty of successes but, I also had plenty of failures. Yet, as much as I loved to compete I really enjoyed spectating.

There are many bjj tournaments out there with different rule types or styles. Many are Ibjjf tournaments or ADCC. I loved watching them!!!! Most tournaments I was never able to attend due to my hectic work schedule. A major bjj enterprise, Budovideos, started to stream major bjj tournaments for the public to watch from their homes. That’s when I knew I was hooked! Really, I was so intrigued by the drama, the passion, athleticism, and mental prowess in these bjj tournaments. I would actually bring my laptop to work and watch hours of these tournaments. I was addicted to  see how Marcelo Garcia win in all these tournaments. I might add he is my favorite bjj black belt. Which I am sure I will be constantly be bringing his name back again over and over.

Like Marcelo, I would be in  awe of the many stars competing: Andre Galvao, Rafa Mendes, Cobrhina,  Kron Gracie, and the list never ends. It appears every six months there is a new emerging black belt like, Rodolfo Vieira, who come upon the scene and make a huge name for themselves. Many people idolize different black belts, and always debate which black belt could beat another black belt. In many cases the debate would never be solved from either weight categories, timing, or simply act of God. Yet the cry for super fights were too loud to ignore for black belt competitors and Renzo Graice.

In the later 2012, Renzo Gracie helped to create the first World Jiu Jitsu Expo for all Brazilian jiu jitsu enthusiasts. It really showcased the true essence of Brazilian jiu jitsu from the many gi/ apparel vendors, Acai Bowls, and Renato Laranja. Yet, nothing could really out shine the true star of the show, the black belt super fights. Renzo knew what kind of monster he created here by having some of the biggest names in bjj finally compete head to head for everyone to see. This didn’t have the vibe of a tournament. It was different kind of feeling. From my knowledge, this is the first time that Brazilian jiu jitsu was an event oppose to the tournament format. The only thing close to this was Rickson Gracie’s Budo Challenge, a smaller tournament format/ event.

Renzo was quite smart on taking advantage of the ever so popular social medias, facebook and twitter, to use it as his barometer to see what the fans of bjj wanted to see. Many people got to see the drama of the Glover vs Terra steroid debate on facebook have a resolution in an exhibition match that held Jeff Glover the winner and many other super fights. Even though Renzo gave us a taste of what super fight events would look like it was Ralek Gracie who took to another level.

Ralek Gracie took this idea that his cousin Renzo started and took it several steps forward with a 20 minute time limit and submission only format. Not only that was a huge revolutionary change but, to get the biggest names in bjj to compete. Ralek was quite clever to stir up the promotion using different themes such as Old vs New, Roger Gracie vs Marcus “Buchecha” Almeida, Point system competitor vs Non-avid competitor, Andre Galvao vs Ryron Gracie, just to name a few themes. This played quite well amongst many bjj enthusiasts. Ralek provided top-notch production promotion videos for the event quite similar how HBO boxing did with its first 24/7 special with Oscar De La Hoya vs Floyd Mayweather Jr. The event was quite beautiful with a reverent setting of a white mat in the center in the center of the event. The event saw 3 sub wins and 3 draws. Yet how this event was started with curiosity and built up drama it also ended up with the same amount.

Many people left hungry for matches! They wanted their questions answered, Does Marcelo have an answer for Rafa’s berimbolo? Who would last Buchecha or the Black Belt hunter? Or can Rhonda Rousey handle all the attacks of Kyra Gracie? Hopefully all these questions will be answered in the next Metamoris this summer. If Marcelo isn’t on this card I would be disappointed. What matches should be made and made priority?

3 thoughts on “My first BJJ Rant…..

  1. Pingback: Seminar with Tri Nguyen, A Carlson Gracie Jr. Black Belt from Montreal, Quebec, Canada | Fusion Mixed Martial Arts

Leave a comment